Reagan's Whitlock named 2009 Coach of the Year

Reagan Soccer Coach Frankie Whitlock is one of 21 high school coaches from across the country selected as the 2009 National Coaches of the Year by the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Coaches Association.


The NFHS, which has been recognizing coaches through an awards program since 1982, honors coaches in the top 10 girls sports and top 10 boys sports (by participation numbers), as well as one other category. Winners of NFHS awards must be active coaches during the year in which they receive their award. This year’s awards recognize coaches for the 2008-09 school year.


After state, the next award level is Sectional Coach of the Year.


Whitlock is a 1980 graduate of Churchill High School and has been working at Reagan High since the school opened in 1999.